Caitlin Arrives in the Philippines (11/3/17)
Hey they're giving us some time to email you guys from the Manila MTC! I made it alive and with all my luggage, one of my suitcases was partly opened and I haven't gotten to look through it yet to see if they had to take anything out or messed up my stuff but I should be fine. The flight was so long and I slept for most of it and they fed us really good food. Real ramen as a snack and some bacon w/ eggs and a banana muffin and yogurt for breakfast. And ice cream. It was awesome. I talked to the guy sitting next to me on the flight to LA and so I fulfilled my goal of talking to people. But then I was inbetween missionaries on the other two flights. I don't have my cord with me so I can't upload pictures but they said I'll get to you email you guys again Wednesday (I'm not sure if that's when we leave or when we arrive in our missions).
President Carlos told us that we were lucky to arrive on one of the cooler days in the Philippines (ha....it's about 85) I haven't gotten uncomfortable outside yet but tomorrow we get to go to the temple and proselyte so that should be fun.
There are a lot of missionaries here from India, Pakistan, and such who train here then go back home to serve. Then a lot of Filipinos obviously. Hopefully there are some we can practice Hiligaynon with but I think they are all Tagalog.
It's 3:30 on Friday, November 3rd right now. I know it's probably 12:30 at home, barely Friday. I tried to time my sleeps right so I don't feel jet lagged or anything. I am so pumped!!! I'm super nervous to go out and proselyte tomorrow but God will help me because I am the Fourth Missionary, I read that packet thanks, and I am putting myself in His hands. I exchanged my $19 and got like 947 or something Filipino pesos so there's that. And signed more stuff to extend our visa. Also we had some Filipino food and it was soo good! We have rice every meal. No rice = just a snack. We also had some fish and it was a whole fish but obviously cooked and stuffed with stuff. But Elder Keller ate the head and he ate an eye and so did Elder Yancey, that was weird. Also, they serve Balout Tuesday night before you leave for the field and yes I am so trying it.
The MTC IS SO PRETTY. I will def take pictures and send them when I can. It's so crazy that I am actually in the Philippines!!!!!!!
Palangga ta kamo!
Sister Bingham
Comments
Post a Comment